Option «Delete for all»Of WhatsApp allows another person in a conversation to delete their messages from your mobile phone after a certain time. This way you can withdraw a message sent by mistake. But the functionality of an Android system allows retrieve these messages after you have been deleted.
Android Boss has discovered that WhatsApp messages are saved in the Android system notification log. Therefore, you only need to enter that «log» to see the messages deleted by the other person. Access to this registration is easy and there are at least two ways to enter.
Images above: If you see «This message has been deleted»In WhatsApp, it is possible to recover it.
It is the easiest and safest way to enter the native notification register of the Android system. Install this APK and run it. Look for the notice that says «WhatsApp«. The message you are looking for will be found on the line that says «android.text», as you can see in the pictures above.
When you open this app, you can indicate that «it was created for an older version of Android and may not work.» However, I checked that it works perfectly on Android 11. It shouldn’t be otherwise, because it’s just a shortcut to that registry. Although there are other Google Play apps with a similar name, they do not display the original Android registry, but their own registry created from its installation. They also require access to notifications and other permissions, which you should not grant as a precaution.
- Tap and hold an empty area on the home screen
- Click on «Widgets»
- Long press «Tasks» and release it when you go to the home screen.
- In the list that will appear, click on «Settings».
- In the sub-list, tap «Log notification» to create the shortcut on the home screen.
From this created shortcut, you’ll enter exactly the same notification history that the Notification History allows.
Some Android devices, such as Motorola, come from the factory with a launcher that already incorporates this shortcut. Similarly, you should add the «Settings» or «Configuration» widget to your Home screen. Click on that widget and you’ll see the «Log notification» option.
- You can only retrieve messages marked as viewed or whose notification you interacted with, even if you didn’t see it (for example, you deleted the floating notification or status bar). Only when the system detects one of these events does it save the message in the log. Otherwise, it will replace the content with the notification «This message has been deleted».
- As messages are extracted from notifications, they must be activated and generated on the device. If you received a message when the screen was on and the conversation was open (condition that does not generate notifications), the message will not appear in the log.
- You will see approximately the first 100 characters of the deleted message.
- Please note that the registry only keeps a limited number of notifications at a time. When this limit is reached, the oldest notifications will be deleted to give «space» to the recent ones. And this record is completely deleted when the phone is restarted, from which the new notifications start to be saved again.
- If multiple incoming messages accumulate after viewing or deleting their unified notification, only the last message will be logged in the notification log.
- You can only retrieve text messages. Photos cannot be recovered. However, it is possible to know what was removed. The log explicitly indicates if the deleted message was a photo (which WhatsApp does not). If what was deleted was a text, «This message has been deleted» will appear in the register, which shows in any case WhatsApp.
- If you can’t see the messages in your log (for example, the notification doesn’t expand or display content), press and hold the notification. This will force you to copy the content so that you can paste and view it in another application. Another solution is to reset the device SETTINGS or, in the worst case, reset it to factory settings.
- Exactly the same method applies view or retrieve deleted messages from Messenger, Telegram and other applications that allow you to delete messages «for everyone».
- Applicable on Android 7 and higher versions. I tested it on Android 6 and, although this system has the notification history option, I couldn’t see its contents. But some readers have indicated that it works as well.
If you receive a message on WhatsApp that you think is worth protecting if the other person deletes it, simply quote that message (drag it to the right and write something). The quote will persist after deleting the original message, as seen in the pictures. Another option is to forward the message, be it text, audio or video, to a third party. If I delete it, it will not be deleted from the mobile phone to which you forwarded it.
There are applications that will automatically save any message deleted by the other person. The best thing about them is that they do not have any of the above limitations. That is, you can «retrieve» messages that you have not seen, in almost any version of Android and not only from WhatsApp, but also from Telegram. You can even RECOVER PHOTO!
I tested the application WhatsRemoved +, which allows you to view deleted messages from WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger and Telegram, although there are other names on Google Play such as WA Delete for everyone Yes Recent notification.
The only caveat here is that you’ll need to allow these third-party apps to read your notifications. In addition, you will obviously not be able to retrieve messages before installing the application.
How to delete WhatsApp messages «FOR EVERYONE» after hours, days
How to know if WhatsApp is being spied on, cloned, hacked or hacked
Can you stop receiving WhatsApp messages from a contact WITHOUT blocking it?