Saltar al contenido

How to change the owner of a file in Google Drive

How to copy folders from Google Drive

By default, you are the owner of any file you upload or create in Google Drive. However, if you want to transfer ownership of a file to someone else, it’s a simple process. In this way.

Before we continue, we must mention that once you transfer ownership of a file to someone else, you will not be able to revoke the changes yourself. In fact, the new owner can even remove it completely from the archive whenever he wants. You will also not be able to delete the file or share it with anyone else.

Personal Google Accounts may transfer ownership of the following types of Google Drive files:

  • Google Docs
  • Google Presentations
  • Google Forms
  • Google Spreadsheets
  • Google My Maps
  • Google drawings
  • Binder

To change the ownership of a file, you must first share the file with the person you want to transfer it to.

For this guide, we will use a Google Docs file in our examples, but all the other files listed above will work the same way.

Start your browser and log in Google Drive homepage. Then navigate to the file you want to transfer ownership to, right-click on it, then select «Share.»

Right-click the file and click "Share."

If you haven’t shared the file with anyone yet, you can add someone from the «Sharing» settings window that appears. Under «People,» enter the email address of the person you want to share the file with, and then click «Send.»

If you haven

From there, click «Advanced» at the bottom of the Sharing Settings window.

Click "Advanced" to see the list of people shared in this document.

In the «Who has access» section, click the drop-down box, and then select «Owner» from the list provided.

Click the drop-down menu next to your name and click

Click ‘Save Changes’ to apply the property change.

Click "Save changes" to update the file permissions.

Drive will give you one last chance to change your mind, as you won’t be able to reverse this action later. Click «Yes» to continue.

Click "Yes" to make the changes and remove yourself as the sole owner of the file.  There is no turning back.  Only the new owner of the file can restore it as the primary owner ... if they want to.

Note: If you change ownership of a folder, only the folder, not the files it contains, will be transferred to the new person.

After the transfer of ownership, the new owner will receive an email notifying them of the change.

An e-mail announcing the new owner about his new responsibilities is sent to the e-mail box.

This is all. Unless the new owner decides to change their access, they can still edit the file from which they transferred ownership.

.