Saltar al contenido

How to backup and restore Android with Google One

How to backup and restore Android with Google One

Switching from one phone to another can be as traumatic as changing schools or moving to a new city. To make the transition less painful, you can use Google One to back up and restore Android.

What is Google One?

Each Google Account includes 15 GB of shared storage between Gmail, Google Drive, and Photos. According to Google, the only files that don’t consume your free space are «Shared with me» items, along with photos and videos stored in «High Quality.» Also, any media you bought from Google Play does not use your free space.

You can get additional storage space from Google One by paying a monthly or annual fee. Starting in August 2018, you can increase your storage capacity from 100 GB to 30 TB. Other benefits include customer service, family sharing (up to six people), Google store benefits, and hotel discounts.

You can choose from the following plans:

  • 100 GB: $ 1.99 per month or $ 19.99 per year
  • 200 GB: $ 2.99 per month or $ 29.99 per year
  • 2 TB: $ 9.99 per month or $ 99.99 per year
  • 10 TB: $ 99.99 per month
  • 20 TB: $ 199.99 per month
  • 30 TB: $ 299.99 per month

You can download and install the file The Google One app on Google Play free of charge. However, when you open the app, you are asked to select a subscription. You cannot use this app if you want to adhere to the free 15 GB plan.

How to backup your Android device with Google One

After installation, the first time you launch the Google One app, you’ll be prompted for three backups for «Multimedia Messaging,» «Photos and Videos,» and «Back Up Mobile Data.» Enable them to suit your preferences. Google One activates the «Device data» option by default.

When you’re done, tap «Next.»

Activate your preferred backup options and then tap "Next".

A request for permission appears. Touch «Allow» to grant «Photos» access to your photos, media files, and files.

Touch "Allow".

The application loads with the Home tab open by default. The first thing you see is the «Device Backup» card.

If you’re ready to save your phone’s media as it is, tap «Back up now.» If you want to make changes (now or later), tap «View details».

If you want to make changes (now or later), tap "View details".

If you touch ‘View details’, you can change the backup settings on the next screen. If necessary, turn on or turn off ‘Device data’, ‘Multimedia messages’ or ‘Photos and videos’. You can also enable or disable the «Mobile data backup» option.

When you’re done, tap «Back up now.»

Activate your preferred backup options and then tap "Back up now".

In the future, if you want to keep the current settings, you can tap «Back up now» on the main page.

Please note that Google One does not automatically back up content sent through the phone manufacturer’s text messaging application. You must manually save any media files attached to Google Photos, which are automatically backed up if you have enabled the «Photos and videos» backup option.

However, if you use Google Messages as your default messaging client, Google One will automatically back up everything.

So if you’ve previously used the Samsung app to send media content, such as stickers and text videos, you can install the Google client and set it as the default for backing up to those media. However, you won’t see the media on any of the clients until you restore from the Google One backup.

Restore your device using Google One

If you’re moving from an old phone or replacing a damaged drive, the Android setup process already includes a restore option if enabled backups and automatic restores for your Google Account. Touch the backup created for your device. Then select the backup items you want to return to your phone, including apps, call history, device settings, and messages, then tap «Restore.»

When your device is running, open the Google One app. You may see a «Restore» card below the «Device Backup» card. If so, tap «Restore backup» to get started.

Touch "Restore backup".

If you don’t see a «Restore» card, tap «Settings» on the app toolbar. Then tap «Restore from backup» in the «Storage settings» section.

Touch "Settings", then touch "Restore from backup".

On the next screen, tap the «Restore» links to restore your images and videos to their original quality and all media sent through the Google Messages app.

Touch "Restore" next to each option.

.