WhatsApp has a feature called «Read Receipts,» which lets you know if someone else has read your messages. If you’ve enabled this option (as well as the other person), then every time that person opens your conversation and sees your message, Your WhatsApp application will show two blue ticks next to the sent message. Undoubtedly, this means that the other person has seen your message (in group chats, it means that ALL members of the group have seen or read your message). But what if instead of these two blue spots two gray spots appear? These two seen in gray mean that the message has been RECEIVED to the other person and some will assume that it has not been seen yet, but this is not necessarily the case.
«Unread» messages can actually be read
As seen above, the message with two seen in gray leads me to assume that the other person has not yet read my message. However, on the other’s phone we have this:
The person can read your messages completely in the notifications, without them appearing as you think. Even if you accidentally delete the notification, you can still see a preview of the message on the WhatsApp main screen (as long as you don’t open the chat, because then the read receipt will already be generated). Another way he may have seen your messages without you knowing is when he runs out of an Internet connection or uses an old version of the app, according to WhatsApp. If the person is even more careful about this, they could have even installed an «invisibility» application, where they can see your messages and, in general, be active on WhatsApp without knowing it.
As I said above, reading blue receipts or checks really guarantees that the other person has seen your messages. However, if there is no confirmation (gray checks), there is no guarantee that the other person has NOT seen your message. That’s why WhatsApp uses the two gray pigeons to indicate that the message has been DELIVERED. Once delivered, the other party may have seen it as they could not. I can not know.
Remember that for the double sky view to work, both sides must have this feature enabled, which can be found by tapping the three-point button on the main screen of the sky. WhatsApp> Settings> Account> Privacy> Read receipts. If the other person has disabled this feature, you won’t see the blue popcorn, even if that person sees your messages. The good thing is that the other party will not be able to know if you have seen their messages, even if you have this feature enabled. That’s why I said both sides need to activate it. It is a reciprocal functionality.
What do the «popcorn» that appears next to WhatsApp messages mean?
How to know when someone connects to WhatsApp
How to hide «Last time», photo and status in WhatsApp